Hip-Hop Chess Federation on the Cover of Chess Life Magazine! OUT NOW!

Hip-Hop Chess Federation on the Cover of Chess Life Magazine! OUT NOW!

Real quick, I just want to say that I know I’m not wearing socks. I used to surf and boogie board (I’m a suburban kid from Cali, what can I say). But seriously folks, I want to shout out some of the people who helped make this happen. First of all, there are truly too many to name. So, please forgive me if I left anyone out. I have never done HHCF alone. I never will.

Much respect to my wife (put in more work than anybody, including me to make HHCF happen), Leo Libiran III aka Blast One, Dr. Alan Kirshner (the first person from the mainstream chess world to support me, Dr. Salman Azhar from Bay Area Chess, Hal Bogner, Tom Langland, Daaim Shabazz, Emory Tate, T-KASH, RZA, Balance, San Quinn, Shamako Noble, DLabrie, Ramen, Immortal Technique, DJ Qbert, Vinay Bhat, DJ Kevvy Kev, Hieroglyphics, Casual, Sunspot Jonz, Amir Sulaiman, Conscious Daughters (RIP Special One), Marilyn Yalom, RAW Talents, Davey D and Dawn-Elissa Fischer, Dr. James Peterson, Ralph and Charles Gracie, my instructor Alan “Gumby” Marques and the entire HEROES Martial Arts Jiu Jitsu Team, Rener, Ryron and Rener Gracie (much respect always), Luke Stewart, Denny “300” Prokopos, Rakaa Iriscience, Eddie Bravo, The HHCF Jiu Jitsu Team, Josh Waitzkin, Sergio Silva, Billy Ray, Leo Jones Jr., Elaine Moskowitz, Kay Hones, all the OC teachers, faculty and staff, Universal Zulu Nation, Jada Pinkett-Smith, Big Pat, Lil Pat and the Mahoney family, Erik K. Arnold, David Frazee Esq., Alicia, Yusef and everybody at K&L Gates, Eric Murrah, Phil Shpilberg, anyone who has ever donated their time, money or advice…thank you…..all the volunteers of this org….all those who have been patient with me in setting the structure of this org…Anybody who kicked in for chessboards, clocks and took time to teach kids the things I could not and last but not least Jean Hoffman, Jen Shahade at 9 Queens and everybody at Chess Life Magazine. Be aware that this is a super edited list. But your trust and loyalty mean a lot to me. I will not forget it.

But I also want to thank the kids who inspire me to never quit: Raheem, Dyhemia, El-Rey, Shirley, Carlos, all the original HHCF John O’Connell crew….Too many kids to name, but got love for all of you. Stay strong on the block.

About hiphopchessfederation

The Hip Hop Chess Federation fuses music chess and martial arts to promote unity, strategy and non-violence. Our goal is to improve the intellectual, cultural and artistic state of young American minds.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

