Working with the kids keeps you young

I am often asked about how I relate to kids. How do I communicate with them? How do I get them to listen? I’m sometimes told how youthful I look (I’m pre-geezer status). People wonder how I keep my patience with kids. What many fail to see is that, its all related. The kids keep me youthful. 

 
The truth is, being around kids is easier than it looks. More than that, being around kids keeps me youthful in mind and body. My mind stays playful. Seeing how kids think, play, communicate with one another, compete, laugh, eat- everything a child does is a lesson (if you are paying attention). Next tiume you are feeling out of shape or out of touch with the youth, go talk to some kids. Play a game of chess, swing on a sing, kick a ball around, allow yourself to laugh from a true place. You will feel better and get fit fast- I promise. 
 
 
  This youngster is legally blind, but he has love and skill for chess. This was taken shortly before the end of the days camp. I’m hope to take judo at Willy Cahill or SJ State. This kids got it.
One of our HHCF volunteer mentors playing as student looks on. 
 

                                Because of donations by local community members, HHCF was able to scholarship these kids for HHCF Live The Game Summer Camp. Both loved the game of chess and took quickly to learning the fundamentals. We are thankful to her and others like her who make chess possible for many kids across The Bay Area.

About hiphopchessfederation

The Hip Hop Chess Federation fuses music chess and martial arts to promote unity, strategy and non-violence. Our goal is to improve the intellectual, cultural and artistic state of young American minds.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

